Submission…

Well, after several months of being so busy I haven’t even had time to think, I finally have time to write again. I have finished my last session of prac for my course, and only have assignments and a week of class in December left to go. We’ve been away several times (two trips to see family, and one to Sydney for the International Fleet Review), and had a few visitors – my mum a few weeks ago, and my brother and his wife this week. Its been wonderful to see family – I still get incredibly lonely out here. So no, I have not fallen off the face of the planet – just attempting to get through life without screaming. Much.

This year God blessed me with the opportunity to pursue my dream – a career in zoo-keeping. I got into a great course and my husband and I packed up and moved miles away from our families and friends.

I was sure that this was God’s plan. You see, this course is really high demand, but I got in. Some of my classmates had terrible trouble finding a house – we had a rental within a week. Everything else just fell into place. My husband got a job, I am enjoying an awesome course, and since God had blessed us this much, I just assumed that meant we would be staying here for a couple of years.

And now it seems that God’s plans for us don’t include me getting a job at the zoo and staying here. In fact, it looks like those plans could include us turning right around and marching back in the direction from whence we came. And I’ll admit – I didn’t wanna!! *insert foot stomp here*

At first my reaction was annoyance, then mild anger as I realised His plan. This was followed by disappointment and a flood of tears. And slowly I came to accept, to submit. To remember that He knows the plans He has for us – plans to give us hope and a future.

I still don’t know exactly what is happening. But you know what – right now it doesn’t matter. I am happy. Happy in the knowledge that God always knows best, He can see the future, and He is holding my tomorrow.

2 thoughts on “Submission…

Leave a Reply

