‘A friend loves…

‘A friend loves at all times, and a brother is born for adversity.’ Proverbs 17:17 NKJV

I was looking through my wedding photos this morning when I noticed something. In about 50% of the pictures, including some he was not meant to be in, is a face. A very cheeky smiling grinning face. A face that is on a body tall enough to poke himself over people’s heads. A face that says he knows he is not supposed to be there, but since I am preoccupied he can get away with it. I saw this face almost every day for 22 years. Then I got married and moved away. And I cried when we had to say goodbye.

I have one brother, two years younger than me. At a  young age I decided that brothers were somewhat annoying, besides being irritating and irrational. I called him my ‘little bother’. So when I found this verse I was delighted! Brothers were there for adversity, for arguing, for being generally troublesome! I knew it!

It wasn’t until a lot later that I finally discovered that this was not at all what God had in mind.

As years went by we (slowly!) grew from siblings into friends.

We waltzed madly around the kitchen to songs on movies. We talked to each other about our (now) spouses. We cried on each other’s shoulders. We occasionally even took each other’s side against a common foe – Mum! We could work out what the other was thinking just by a look. We bopped our heads crazily to the credits music at the movies – with both of our significant others looking at us like we were mad. (We still do, and they still give us the same weird looks!) We found we could communicate through various grunts that leave most people thoroughly confused. This lead to learning to translate what the other is trying to say with their mouth full. (We developed this talent because Mum wouldn’t let us talk with our mouths open – mums are funny like that – but she would still ask questions while we were eating. Clearly someone had to tell her what we were saying!) I called him Georgie (even though that is not his name!) for no apparent reason.

Don’t get me wrong, we argued like crazy. (Still do!) But if anyone else picks on either of us, look out!

And at some point, I finally got it. God knew that in this crazy world we would need forever friends. The kind that you can tell anything to, that will always be there for you. And so He invented siblings – friends that are stuck together until they work out how much they actually need each other -and gave me one of the best.

And Georgie? I miss you. (And you’re still the only person I can waltz properly with!)

Brothers aren’t just for adversity, they are for forever. ♥

2 thoughts on “‘A friend loves…

Leave a Reply

